When you look at your phone and you see that someone you know and love is trying to connect with you, YOU DON’T WAIT to

4 10 2010

When you look at your phone and you see that someone you know and love is trying to connect with you, YOU DON’T WAIT to find out what they have to say. It doesn’t matter if it’s a phone call, text, tweet, email, or any other kind of message. You get the message.

Truth is that Someone is crazy about you. God, our Creator and King, is trying to communicate with you. He is alive. He loves you. He has something to say.

The Bible is alive and full of His words for you! You will find times were one word, one thought, or one phrase will change the rest of your day. It will change your life.

Don’t read it out of guilt or duty. Read it because it is full of life. Read it because it is full of the love that you need. Open yourself up to hear what God has to say to you.

When you find something that speaks to you, stop! Soak it in. Think about it. Pray about it. Write about it. Memorize it. Don’t just try to power through the chapter. Meditate on that one word or phrase. You will find life!

Recently our CBC Baltimore team spent a little time with the Scriptures below. I just wanted to share them with you. Below the final section I listed a few questions that we discussed.

Psalm 139
For the director of music. Of David. A psalm.

1      O LORD, you have searched me
and you know me.
2      You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3      You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
4      Before a word is on my tongue
you know it completely, O LORD.
5      You hem me in—behind and before;
you have laid your hand upon me.
6      Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.
7      Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
8      If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9      If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10      even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11      If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12      even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.
13      For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14      I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15      My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,
16      your eyes saw my unformed body.
All the days ordained for me
were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
17      How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18      Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand.
When I awake,
I am still with you.
19      If only you would slay the wicked, O God!
Away from me, you bloodthirsty men!
20      They speak of you with evil intent;
your adversaries misuse your name.
21      Do I not hate those who hate you, O LORD,
and abhor those who rise up against you?
22      I have nothing but hatred for them;
I count them my enemies.
23      Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24      See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

Acts 2:25-28

25 David said about him:
“ ‘I saw the Lord always before me.
Because he is at my right hand,
I will not be shaken.
26      Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
my body also will live in hope,
27      because you will not abandon me to the grave,
nor will you let your Holy One see decay.
28      You have made known to me the paths of life;
you will fill me with joy in your presence.’

Romans 5:6-11

6 You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. 7 Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. 8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
9 Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him! 10 For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life! 11 Not only is this so, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

Ephesians 1:5-8

In love 5 he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will— 6 to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves. 7 In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace 8 that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.

Ephesians 4:4-10

4 But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, 5 made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved. 6 And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, 7 in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. 8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9 not by works, so that no one can boast. 10 For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Philippians 4:4-7

4 Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7 And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Romans 1:1-4, 11, 38-39

1 Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, 2 because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death. 3 For what the law was powerless to do in that it was weakened by the sinful nature, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful man to be a sin offering. And so he condemned sin in sinful man, 4 in order that the righteous requirements of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the sinful nature but according to the Spirit.

11 And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit, who lives in you.
38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Mark 2:1-12

1 A few days later, when Jesus again entered Capernaum, the people heard that he had come home. 2 So many gathered that there was no room left, not even outside the door, and he preached the word to them. 3 Some men came, bringing to him a paralytic, carried by four of them. 4 Since they could not get him to Jesus because of the crowd, they made an opening in the roof above Jesus and, after digging through it, lowered the mat the paralyzed man was lying on. 5 When Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, “Son, your sins are forgiven.”
6 Now some teachers of the law were sitting there, thinking to themselves, 7 “Why does this fellow talk like that? He’s blaspheming! Who can forgive sins but God alone?”
8 Immediately Jesus knew in his spirit that this was what they were thinking in their hearts, and he said to them, “Why are you thinking these things? 9 Which is easier: to say to the paralytic, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say, ‘Get up, take your mat and walk’? 10 But that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins….” He said to the paralytic, 11 “I tell you, get up, take your mat and go home.” 12 He got up, took his mat and walked out in full view of them all. This amazed everyone and they praised God, saying, “We have never seen anything like this!”

Questions to consider:

1. What is happening in this story?

2. What is Jesus trying to say?

3. What does this say to you personally?

4. What does this tell you about the message you can carry to others?


Actions

Information




