They say that confession is good for the soul, but I say NO!

3 11 2010

They say that confession is good for the soul, but I say NO!

But you can’t keep your stuff bottled up inside you. It will eat you up.

Read these words of someone who knows guilt, the guilt of sleeping with a wife not his own, and the murder of her husband:

David writes:

“My whole body is sick;

my health is broken because of my sins.
My guilt overwhelms me—
it is a burden too heavy to bear.
My wounds fester and stink
because of my foolish sins.
I am bent over and racked with pain.
All day long I walk around filled with grief.
A raging fever burns within me,
and my health is broken.
I am exhausted and completely crushed.
My groans come from an anguished heart.

You know what I long for, Lord;
you hear my every sigh.
My heart beats wildly, my strength fails,
and I am going blind.
My loved ones and friends stay away, fearing my disease.
Even my own family stands at a distance.

But I confess my sins;
I am deeply sorry for what I have done.
I have many aggressive enemies;
they hate me without reason.
They repay me evil for good
and oppose me for pursuing good.
Do not abandon me, O Lord .
Do not stand at a distance, my God.
Come quickly to help me,
O Lord my savior.”

Psalm 38:3-11,18-22

If you don’t confess your mess to God through the grace of Jesus Christ there is no healing.

Instead it’s just getting the words off your chest. As soon as you let the words go the guilt will come back.

Confessing your junk, your past, to God…believing that by the grace found in Jesus Christ you can be forgiven, will not only help your soul it will clean all of you!

By a miracle of God’s mercy (not hitting you with the discipline you deserve) and God’s grace (giving you the love you don’t deserve) you will find freedom, a whole new life, in confession.

“Unfailing love and faithfulness make atonement for sin.
By fearing the Lord , people avoid evil.”

Proverbs 16:6

“Change your life. Turn to God and be baptized, each of you, in the name of Jesus Christ, so your sins are forgiven. Receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. The promise is targeted to you and your children, but also to all who are far away—whomever, in fact, our Master God invites.” Acts 2:38-39 The Message

You see God offers each and every one of us a miracle. Through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ was have access to God. Only He can clean you. Only He can heal you.

Talking to someone else about your past can help. God wired us for relationship. There is benefit to talking through your stuff with a friend, but they cannot provide the forgiveness found in God’s love. Two kids playing in a mud puddle can’t clean each other. We’re in this together and we need Jesus.

Read what David writes after his confession.

1 Have mercy on me, O God,
according to your unfailing love;
according to your great compassion
blot out my transgressions.

2 Wash away all my iniquity
and cleanse me from my sin.

3 For I know my transgressions,
and my sin is always before me.

10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

11 Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.

12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

Psalm 51

When you confess to God and accept His forgiveness you can be clean. Only then can you know real joy – it’s not a human emotion that fades. It’s spiritual and it’s here to stay!

Want to know more? Ask me.


Actions

Information




