Ear Candy Saturdays:

20 11 2010

Ear Candy Saturdays

Uncovering something good for the first time…well, that’s just one of the best things in life.

When it comes to music, it seems like everyone under the age of 40 (that includes me) thinks a band is ruined if they get discovered. Listen, it’s not like a cafe where “getting discovered” means you can’t get a table. The beauty of music is that you can always listen. If other people discover your band it just means that the artist is more likely to produce another album.

I love discovering a new sound. There’s something to learn from anyone. Hearing a new voice can be such a great experience!

…my favorite movie quote on pop music…

I just wanted to put out there some of the songs I’ve been listening to lately.

Maybe you’ll find something that you like – for the first time.

When I started this list it was huge and so I checked out a few of the videos. That lead me to just putting a few songs here to get started. Most likely I’ll start to list different stuff every week, but I’m really interested in what you might have to say…or what you might have to suggest.

The list is by artist and then song name (in no particular order):

OK Go – This Too Shall Pass

Ok Go does some crazy videos with their music. This is one of my favorites. You’re going to want to watch this a few times, but you’ll probably still be distracted from the music.

Mutemath – Backfire

These guys have been innovative with their musical expressions and I’ve really enjoyed it. This video is a bit crazy. Good times.

Derek Webb – Cobra Con

Seems like some of Derek’s past success has caused most people to put him in a box. This guy is a great writer and I think he has found a real voice to be heard.


Seabird – Don’t You Know You’re Beautiful


Gungor – Brighter Day

Here’s a simple unplugged version of this song. It’s more interesting with a full Sufjan Stevens kind of orchestra.

Hopefully you enjoyed this with a good cup of coffee to start off your weekend!


Actions

Information




