Something has to change.

12 10 2011

David was running for his life. King Saul was chasing him with one idea in mind, kill him. From the cave he writes, “When I am overwhelmed, you alone know the way I should turn.” In other words, “God Save Me! Something has to change.”

Psalm 142 and 143 offer us a window into how David talked to God about what he was going through, what he asked God to do, and what he did about it himself.

Have you ever been in that kind of place. “SOMETHING HAS TO CHANGE!”

Here’s the first thing David says to God: “You are my place of refuge. You are all I really want in life.”

That’s weird. Probably would not have been my first response.

Here’s a list of what he asks of God:

Lord “Hear, rescue, bring me out, listen, answer me, don’t put me on trial, come quickly, answer me, don’t turn away from me, let me hear, show me where to walk, teach me to do your will, lead me forward on a firm footing, preserve my life, bring me out of this distress, silence all my enemies, destroy all my foes.”

Here’s a list of what he has done, himself:

I remember, ponder your great works, think about what you have done. I lift my hands to you in prayer. I thirst, I am trusting you, I give myself to you, I run to you, for I am your servant.”

When you read Psalm 142 and 143 a good take away…a good list of how you should respond might be:

Remember, Consider, Pray, Crave, Trust, Give, Run, Serve.

Also, here’s a condensed prayer from Pastor Frank Damazio that sums up our prayer to God in a situation like this:

“In the name of Jesus, I pray with great faith that the new doors You have for my life will open. I will remove all obstacles through faith, prayer, and fasting. By faith, I stretch toward the new challenges You have set before me.

I will not lose heart. By faith, I will destroy any obstacle that hinders progress and I will advance beyond all previous limitations. I will not quit, give in, or give up.

I will not retreat, back off, or step down. I will not shift into neutral, take a break, or do nothing. But by God’s grace, I will break through and move ahead with supernatural strength.”


Actions

Information




