Faith 101

4 02 2014

Here’s some source material for our on-going Bible study on faith, this year:

“Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.” Hebrews 11:1

“Faith is the steadfast courage, confidence, and assurance that what we believe is true. Hope is a wonderful thing; it is vision for the future and expectation of good for our lives. But some of us never move from hope to faith. Faith alone creates substance out of our hopes and dreams. Faith is what pleases God, believing that He exists and is presently and actively involved in our lives or situation. Faith is diligently seeking Him, knowing that He is a good God and a wonderful rewarder of those who do.” Pastor Wendell Smith

…without it, we find it impossible to please God. We must instead believe that He is and that He rewards those who diligently seek Him. Hebrews 11:6  God rewards faith. “because of your faith,” Matthew  9:22,29; 15:28

You’ve probably heard Paul’s statement, “Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” from Romans 10:17

Steven Furtick wrote:

  • Hearing the Word Initiates Faith
  • Speaking the Word Activates Faith
  • Doing the Word Demonstrates Faith

I have faith, so I speak. “I believed in God, so I spoke.” 2 Cor 4:13

Our faith must be focused on God alone.

Jesus wants me to have faith for big change. Removing doubt and unforgiveness is a must. Mark 11:22-25

Jesus wants us to ask for big things. John 14

We live by believing and not by seeing. I walk by faith, not by sight. 2 Corinthians 5:7

I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me. Galatians 2:20

People in right relationship with God & others, live by faith. Hebrews 10:38

Faith without works is dead James 2.

Mountain-moving faith without love is pointless. 1 Corinthians 13

God has given each of us faith. “measure” Romans 12:3

I know that I am not alone, while standing in faith. 1 Peter 5:8-9

Our faith is overcoming. 1 John 5:4 esv

The responsibility that God has given us is to believe in Jesus. John 6:29

When I have faith in God I will be able to stand firm and succeed. 2 Chronicles 20:20

As a believer & follower, when I have faith in God and ask within His will nothing is impossible. Matthew 17:20; 21:22 Mark 9:23

If I will believe in Jesus then I will do the same things that Jesus did, and even better. John 14:12

I believe God, and it will be a credit showing that I am in right relationship with God & others. I will be called a friend of God. James 2:23

Through our faith, God is protecting us by His power until we receive the fulfillment of salvation. 1 Peter 1:5

A conflict within faith is to be expected and we are to ask for God’s help. “I believe. Help me in my unbelief.” Mark 9:24

My faith can grow, “growing” 2 Thessalonians 1:3, 2 Corinthians 10:15

We can build each other up in faith. Jude 1:20

I’m looking to Jesus, who started and will complete my faith. Hebrews 12:2

I will follow the example of the faith of my spiritual leaders. Hebrews 13:7

I will follow the example of those who inherit what God has promised, through faith & patience. Hebrews 6:12

Testing shows that faith is genuine. Faith has a great reward in the end. 1 Peter 1:7

Even though I don’t see Jesus in body now, I believe. I rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory, receiving the end of my faith – the salvation of my soul. 1 Peter 1:8,9

We are the faithful ones whose souls are and will be saved. Hebrews 10:39

Testing of my faith produces patience, endurance. James 1:2

I will not be afraid or be of little faith Matthew 8:26

My faith does not need to weaken, even if my body weakens with age. Romans 4:19

I will not waver in believing God’s promises, but instead my faith will grow and this will bring glory to God. Romans 4:20

Even in aging, I will be convinced that God is able to do whatever He promises. Romans 4:21

I will fight the good fight of faith, finishing my race, and keeping the faith. 2 Timothy 4:7

God has chosen those who are poor in this world to be rich in faith and heirs of the kingdom. James 2:5

“great faith” Luke 7:9; Matthew 8:10, 15:28

Pastor Wendell Smith would often say:

“There is nothing too hard for our God!

There is no:

  •             Problem He cannot solve.
  •             Question He cannot answer.
  •             Disease He cannot heal.
  •             Demon He cannot cast out.
  •             Enemy He cannot defeat.
  •             Difficulty He cannot overcome.
  •             Stronghold He cannot bring down.
  •             Bondage He cannot break.
  •             Prison He cannot open.
  •             Need He cannot meet.
  •             Mountain He cannot move.”

“We can approach God with confidence, honestly confessing our need and heart condition. At the same time, we can learn to speak faith and align our heart, emotions, and confession with the Word of God. We can learn to pray the prayer of faith.” – Pastor Wendell Smith “Great Faith” (available on Amazon)


Actions

Information




