Leave the baggage

7 01 2017

Day 1 Sunday January 8

Leave the baggage behind. Are you carrying something that God hasn’t asked you to? It’s healthy to let go.

Please take time to be quiet and consider if you have bad memories that you need to let go of, hurt that needs healing, anger that needs forgiveness, or sin that you need to repent of.

Let’s look at God’s perspective on this.

“Wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.” 2 Corinthians 3:17  “So Christ has truly set us free.” Galatians 5:1

“Let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.” Hebrews 4:13-16

“Look after each other so that none of you fails to receive the grace of God. Watch out that no poisonous root of bitterness grows up to trouble you, corrupting many.” Hebrews 12:15

“You are a slave to whatever controls you.” 2 Pet 2:19

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness,” 1 John 1:9

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God – not by works, so that no one can boast.” Eph 2:8-9

Here’s an opening prayer:

God, what would you like for me to leave behind? What sin is there in my life to repent of? What hurt is there in me that needs to be healed? What anger is there in me that needs to be resolved? Please help me. Please bring healing.

God, you are more important to me than anything else in this world. Thank you for taking away the guilt of my sin through Jesus. This January 8-28 I’m going without ____. I am doing this because _____. I will be more focused on you than anything else. I choose to live for you. Please speak to me God. Thank you!


Actions

Information




