Selflessness

18 04 2013

Here’s some reading to material that may help you consider how you can be a better team player & Jesus follower:

Selflessness “Courageous Generosity” – you’re not crazy, it’s a God idea! 1 Corinthians 9:19-27

Servant Leadership and avoiding the plague of becoming an “expert”.

“When you stop giving & offering something to the rest of the world, it’s time to turn out the lights.” – George Burns

“We’re here on earth to do good for others. What the others are here for, I don’t know.” – W. H. Auden

“You have not lived today successfully unless you’ve done something for someone who can never repay you.” – John Bunyan

“I do everything to spread the Good News and share in its blessings.” 1 Cor. 9:23

To serve the crucified & resurrected Messiah we must each take up our own cross daily, die to self-interest, and serve the One who bought us.

“How will this way of living and/or course of action contribute to, or hinder, the work of the gospel?”

“I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some,” “…find common ground,” 1 Cor. 9:22

“Every culture has good and bad elements in it. Yet in every culture it is important for the evangelist, church planter, and witnessing Christian to flex as far as possible, so that the gospel will not be made to appear unnecessarily alien at the merely cultural level. But it is also important to recognize evil elements in culture when they appear and to understand how biblical norms assess them. There will be times when it is necessary to confront culture.

“Even to begin to assess such matters aright, we must know what freedoms and constraints are ours in Christ Jesus. We must develop a firm grasp of biblical theology.

“There is a rigid limit to his flexibility (Paul) as he seeks to win the lost from different cultural and religious groups: he must not do anything that is forbidden to the Christian, and he must do everything mandated of the Christian. He is not free from God’s law; he is under Christ’s law.”  “The Cross & Christian Ministry” – D. A. Carson

“Believers in the Lord Jesus Christ:

  • Their allegiance to Jesus Christ and his kingdom is self-consciously set above all national, cultural, linguistic, and racial allegiances.
  • Their commitment to the church, Jesus’ messianic community, is to the church everywhere, wherever the church is truly manifest, and not only to its manifestation on home turf.
  • They see themselves first and foremost as citizens of the heavenly kingdom and therefore consider all other citizenship a secondary matter.
  • As a result, they are single-minded and sacrificial when it comes to the paramount mandate to evangelize and make disciples.”  from “The Cross and Christian Ministry” – D. A. Carson

“No man can live happily who regards himself alone, who turns everything to his own advantage. You must live for others if you wish to life for yourself.” – Seneca

“All getting separates you from others; all giving unites to others.” – St. Francis of Assisi

“A person first starts to live when he can live outside of himself.” – Albert Einstein

“Life should not be estimated exclusively by the standard of dollars and cents. I am not disposed to complain that I have planted and others have gathered the fruits. A man has cause for regret only when he sows and no one reaps.” – Charles Goodyear

How do you cultivate an attitude of selflessness?  – John Maxwell “17 E.Qualities of Team Player”

  1. Be Generous
  2. Avoid Internal Politics
  3. Display Loyalty
  4. Value Interdependence over Independence

To become more selfless…                              – John Maxwell “17 E.Qualities of Team Player”

  • Promote someone other than yourself.
  • Take a subordinate role.
  • Give secretly.

Jonathan Edwards’ Prayer of Dedication 

I claim no right to myself, no right to this understanding, this will, these affections that are in me, neither do I have any right to this body or its members, no right to this tongue, to these hands, feet, ears, or eyes.

I have given myself clear away and not retained anything of my own.  I have been to God this morning and told Him I have given myself wholly to Him.  I have given every power, so that for the future I claim no right to myself in any respect.  I have expressly promised Him, for by His grace I will not fail.  I take Him as my whole portion and felicity, looking upon nothing else as any part of my happiness.  His law is the constant rule of my obedience.  I will fight with all my might against the world, the flesh, and the devil to the end of my life.  I will adhere to the faith of the Gospel, however hazardous and difficult the profession and practice of it may be.

I receive the blessed spirit as my Teacher, Sanctifier, and only Comforter, and cherish all admonitions to enlighten, purify, confirm, comfort, and assist me.  This I have done.  I pray God, for the sake of others, to look upon this as a self-dedication, and receive me as His own.  Henceforth, I am not to act in any respect as my own.  I shall act as my own if I ever make use of any of my powers to do anything that is not to the glory of God, or to fail to make the glorifying of Him my whole and entire business.

If I murmur in the least at afflictions; if I am in any way uncharitable; if I revenge my own case; if I do anything purely to please myself, or omit anything because it is a great denial; if I trust to myself; if I take any praise for any good which Christ does by me, or if I am in any way proud, I shall act as my own and not God’s.  I purpose to be absolutely His.


Actions

Information

One response

20 04 2013
Glenda Malmin (@GlendaMalmin)

This is such an anointed post. I never cease to be freshly convicted by such gracious words. May we all live a little more courageously and generously today & all the days to follow!




